Top Single-Season Batting Average Among Catchers

since 1900

1. piazza.jpgMike Piazza LA 1997 .362
2. dickey.jpgBill Dickey NYY 1936 .362*
3. cochrane.jpgMickey Cochrane PHA 1930 .357
4. davis.jpgSpud Davis PHN 1933 .349
5. Mickey Cochrane PHA 1931 .349
6. mauer2.jpgJoe Mauer MIN 2006 .347
7. Mike Piazza LA 1995 .346
8. lombardi.jpgErnie Lombardi CIN 1938 .342
9. hartnett.jpgGabby Hartnett CHC 1930 .339
10. Mickey Cochrane PHA 1927 .338

*Bill Dickey was a few plate appearances  short of qualifying for the batting title in 1936 (3.1 PA’s per team game required; Dickey = 3.06 PA’s per game)

Looks like Joe is in some good company. Four hall of famers (Cochrane, Dickey, Lombardi, and Hartnett) and one sure thing future HOFer (Piazza).

10 Responses to Top Single-Season Batting Average Among Catchers

  1. Moss says:

    Bill Dickey was a few plate appearances short of qualifying for the batting title in 1936 (3.1 PA’s per team game required; Dickey = 3.06 PA’s per game)

    a) He wouldn’t have won anyway, because Luke Appling hit .388

    b) A player doesn’t actually have to get to the 3.1 PA/game threshold. You can calculate a BA for that player by adding on a number of hitless ABs sufficient to get to the threshold. If he is the leader by that calculation, then he wins the batting title.

  2. Scot says:

    Thanks for the clarification, Moss.

    The reason I included the * was to point out the reason that Dickey doesn’t appear on some of the lists of single-season batting leaders. I believe he is left out of ESPN.com’s list, but is included in MLB.com’s (I may have that reversed).

    Most of the players on the list weren’t the league batting champions in the seasons listed.

  3. […] for protection. If Mauer can keep his average there, he will smash the major league record for the highest batting average by a catcher, .362, shared by Bill Dickey (Yankees, 1936) and Mike Piazza (Dodgers, […]

  4. If some one desires to be updated with newest technologies afterward he must be go to see this
    site and be up to date every day.

  5. Bottom-line: Best choice if you’re a moderate downloader if torrents are throttled or banned for you. At their best they produce moments that will make life worth living. You can play the DVDs on your own large screen LCDs using DVD players.

  6. I always used to study paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user of web thus from now I am using net for articles, thanks to web.

  7. Ezra says:

    I want to to thank you for this wonderful read!
    ! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I
    have you bookmarked to look at new stuff you post…

  8. I blog frequently and I truly thank you for your content.
    This article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to book mark
    your blog and keep checking for new details about once per week.
    I opted in for your RSS feed too.

  9. Wow, this piece of writing is nice, my younger sister is
    analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going
    to convey her.

  10. Pete Dowd says:

    Why not Elston Howard in 1961. He caught 111 games and played at first base. He hit .348 and qualified for the batting title. Norm Cash hit .361 to win the batting, the only year he hit over .300. Maybe you are only counting games he caught in. Also, Bill Dickey did qualify for the batting title as the American League used 400 at bats as what was needed to qualify. Please correct me if I am wrong. Thank you. Pete Dowd

Leave a comment