Super Ball Party

Another year, another Super Bowl, and I think an unexpected line has been crossed. While I was about as apathetic as I could be about the Super Bowl (I was much more into the Chelsea-Man United game earlier in the day), my wife had a distinct rooting interest in Eli Manning, and was much more interested in the game than I was.

My kids, on the other hand, were rooting for Darth Vader, and the two year old was delighted by the number of “football guys” who fell down during the course of the game. I was glad that he had fun. When I mentioned that we were going to a Super Bowl party, he heard and repeated “super ball” party, so must have been disappointed when we arrived at Granna and Pop’s house to find that there was not a super ball to be seen.

Whether or not I have any interest in the game itself, the day after the Super Bowl marks a significant day on the sporting calendar: just 12 days until pitchers and catchers report.

Leave a Reply

