A Day at Home

I’m home with a very sick two-year-old today so I thought I would take this opportunity to do something I haven’t been able to do for a while: just write.

Though he is sick today, my son has had an eventful January, highlighted by his second birthday on the 18th, an event that included a birthday party with family and a trip to MOA where he experienced his first ride on the Big Rigs at the place formerly known as Camp Snoopy.

It is hard to believe that he has been around for two years now. Sometimes it seems like the time has flown by, yet I have trouble remembering what life was like without the little guy around (although there are days when I remember those times more fondly, such as these when sleep is a secondary priority behind vomit clean-up).

On the baseball front, the Twins finally did it. They finally priced me out of season tickets. There are other factors invloved, including the fact that I am more student than employee at this time, but it is sad that this had to happen with just one year to go before the new ballpark opens. Luckily there are still tickets in my family, so games will still be attended.

In addition to the 1991 team, I have been following the 2009 version of the Twins. Over the course of the past few months, I have been happy that the impulse for the team to make a big move just to do something in the offseason has been, thus far, avoided. I would like to see the team bring in free agents as much as the next guy, but this year’s class is low on appeal. While it might be nice to bring in a relief pitcher or two, I am not terribly disappointed by the lack of action this offseason.

Finally, I thought it would be worth an update of Coffeyville Whirlwind. Regular readers will notice that, outside of the 1991 Season, there has been very little new material over the past few months. At first that was intentional, an allowance for time to attend to life. I did, however, sit down to attempt to continue the year-by-year series only to discover that paperofrecord.com, my heavily relied upon source for back issues of TSN, seems to have been wiped from the internets.

Being that I haven’t found a suitable replacement for at-home research I am left with three options for the series: 1. dive back into the series without TSN, with more of a focus on stats and less on the newspaper accounts/human interest stuff; 2. skip ahead to 1986, the first year that I have access to the full Star Tribune archive, or 3. continue the hiatus until a new research option presents itself. I’m leaning towards the third option at the moment.

In any event, we are only weeks away from pitchers and catchers reporting for the 2009 season!

Leave a Reply

