1987 World Series DVD: Game 7

At long last I have worked my way through the entire series. I predicted a few months ago that I would finish by the holidays, and I actually did finish watching Game 7 on New Years Day. In some ways, having an 11-month-old in the house made me enjoy the DVD set more, taking my time to work through it rather than watching it all in a week like I would have in my former life.

Onto the game. In the case of the first six games, it was the first time I had seen each since they originally happened (save a few snippets on FSN Classics). I have Game 7 on tape, so while it has been a few years since I last saw it, I am more familiar with this game than the others.

One of my favorite moments from the game is the quip that Al Michaels got in as the Minnesota crowd insisted on doing the wave in the fourth inning of a 2-1 World Series Game 7: something along the lines of the wave being about in style as the leisure suit.

As for the play itself, this would have been a real frustrating game to relive had the Twins lost. The team ran itself out of runs on several occasions, and at least one was taken away by a bad call at the plate. Had the Twins not been so aggressive on the base paths, it is likely that the final score might have been in the 7-2 range rather than 4-2. I guess that the result is what matters, and watching the team celebrate after the final out never gets old.

Some notes on the series:

I started out believing that 1987 Tim McCarver was less annoying than 2007 Tim McCarver. While that statement is probably still true, even the 1987 version started wearing on me. It may have been his insistence on referring to Tim Laudner as “Loud-ner,” but by Game 7 he had me wishing that I could mute him and just listen to Michaels and Palmer. The AL clinching out is featured in the extras, called by my favorite team of Bob Costas and Tony Kubek, simply making me ponder what might have been had NBC carried the series instead of ABC.

It seems that overall the umpiring in this series was very good. There were a few blown calls in the final game, but it basically equaled out for both teams. The strike zone tended to get bigger as the game went along, but I am all for anything that makes the game go faster.

Here are the stats from the entire series (scroll down to see composites). One of the things that is always fascinating to me is the way that the stats differ from the way things unfolded in my memory, particularly in regards to individual performances. I knew that Puckett had a monster series (particularly due to his performance in the final two games), but didn’t realize that Tim Laudner and Steve Lombardozzi should have garnered MVP consideration (more so with Lombo; Michaels et al. were all over Laudner’s success in the early games of the series, at least until Lawless gave them another unsung hero to talk about).

Most instructive about the series is the difference in extra base hits. The Cardinals batted .259 for the series compared with the Twins’ .269, but the nature of the hits was completely different. The Twins had 20 XBH’s to the Cardinals’ 10, including a 7-2 edge in home runs. That translated into a 38-26 run differential in favor of the winning team.

It can’t be too long before the 1991 World Series comes out on DVD, can it? I’d really like to see 1965 as well.

3 Responses to 1987 World Series DVD: Game 7

  1. Blake says:

    i loved the DVD’s too and can’t wait for a 1991 version to come out. I know that game 1 of the ’65 series can sometimes be found on eBay and I’m trying to reach another guy who says he has games 2,6 & 7 on DVD. I’ll let you know what I find out.

  2. Scot says:

    I’ve considered getting some of the other World Series DVD’s that have been commercially released (1986 and 1975 would be high on my list), but in the end, I won’t have the time to watch them.

  3. Beau says:

    Might as well wait until the kid’s older and you can get them on the cheap

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

